New York City 1948


8:32 a.m.-2002-07-05

yank the leash

I had every intention to shake my ass out in Brooklyn Wednesday night. Independence eve party in Park Slope. Sweet sweet Manahattan cranked the gas on my apartment turned into a roasting pan, and had me braising in my own juices. Couple of homies already taken root at The Edge. The Edge has air conditioning? Trail of sweat on the sidewalk to the bar.

Milliseconds after settling into the oak bench, name already on the pool list, drink in hand, I decided I wasn't facing the swelter outdoors until forced to. So, no party Brooklyn. Sorry bout that borough buddy.

Was labelled the evil Charlie Brown after the second round by the bartender and all her followers. I was wearing my black zig zag across the belly Charlie Brown t-shirt. Me and Snoopy gonna start ganking marks for they cash, Linus barks "Ya'll gonna make me lose my mind, up in here, up in here." Word.

Had a thirteen game winning streak. Caught the attention of a chick. She just joined a league and insisted that I must already be on one. Nope, just a barfly. She wanted to start the doubles. So, her and her friend playing me and my homie. Sink a couple on the break. Run the table up to the eight and choke. I knew the chances to sink it after that was doomed, I cursed myself. They won. After giving her some congratulatory dap, I sidled up behind her spoke low toned in her ear, breathing on her neck, taking in the scent of her hair, told her I had just blessed her game and no one will be able to beat her and her friend but me. She giggles. After a six game winning streak on their part it was my turn to shoot again. Curse broken. Granted she made a decent break that set up the table tastily, but I ran the table again, this time without choking on the eight. Gave her a smirk and a peck. Fairly certain I raised the moisture levels.

Go to the bar for my round of drinks. Another chick I eyed briefly earlier was sitting alone at the bar. Slithered into the stool next to her. The homie who accompanied me to help transport the liquid goods played the porter solo as I remained to chat. When a chick adjusts her chair so that she can get a better look at you is always a good sign. Fingering her drink, ice tinkling around her glass. Snatched the digits before her friends hustled her out.

Back to the table.

Nearing closing time. Me and the other chick, both of us no longer shooting, were lounging on an out of the way black leather couch. She coyly intimates where her team will be playing next and says if I want to cheer her on I should show up.

The last call gates come crashing down. Scan the bar and notice that my posse slipped away unnoticed by me. The mack often takes full attention and command of all the senses to pick up on the necessary clues that unlock the panty puzzle. They probably even said goodbye to me and I spaced it. Oh well.

Extremely fortuitous that I was allowed not to work on the Fourth the following day. See, booze dehydrates. Spanky don't got air conditioning. Stumbled out of slumber mid afternoon with half my body weight melted into my mattress. Desperately sucked on water the whole day halucinating from heat stroke. Zoned out on movie channels, too grumpy to even walk up to my roof to watch the boom booms. Thank chowder that the oppressive satanic simmer was doused some time around one in the morning. Collapsed quivering on my bed surrounded by fans.

This ain't how a family man acts. Doubtful I will ever shake bachelorhood. Fortunate that I love the ever licking booty gravy out my freak single life. A dog without a choke collar. Arf arf.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next