New York City 1948


8:12 a.m.-2002-07-20

ma the slinger

I miss playing raquetball with my ma. Every Saturday. Her job at Wash U. afforded us free court time at the college's gym. Coral toned rough hewn stone buildings converted into a University from the structures built for the 1904 World's Fair. Where, by the by, the world was introduced to the hamburger and the ice cream cone all waffle style. Serious midwest innovations to be sure. Every other structure erected on campus since then designed to match the turn of century aesthetics.

Ma was a raquetball machine. Whooped my heiny on the court often. Favorite move; stepping up off the wall to spike a squeaky overhead shot. She was also dope at rockin the ball off the backwall. Great competitor.

We would also play catch in the backyard on clement Sundays. Occasionally freaking me out with her underhand pitching skills, from back in the softball team days. Shit would fly inexplicably from her palm like a bullet. Standing there like, "Underhand? This'll be a powder....", stinging sensation where the ball smacks the cup of my glove. Inherited my arm from her.

Once, I fielded a one hopper in leftfield. Chump rounding third. Threw a strike from the outfield straight beeline into the catcher's mitt to tag the herb out. Gaping mouths and jiggling eyes. Ma hooting and hollering from the bleachers.

Still have great hands to this day thanks to my ma. Nuh uh, that coffee cup ain't hitting the floor, master snatcher is on the case. Positive I've mentioned it before, but ma trained me to catch anything thrown at me. Casually walking through the livingroom, I'm watching Battle of the Planets, deftly in one fluid move she'd snatch something from off a shelf, yell "Head's up!", and toss it in my direction. No matter what it was I was expected to catch it, regardless of which side of my body it was headed. Had to develop ambidextrous handling skills afterall.

Great egg toss partner. Won the egg toss contest at my pop's company picnic twice. She would focus in on my eyes, serious expression, making sure we were in synch before she arched the egg to me with perfect speed and angle. Same intense look as I prepared to lob it back to her.

Couldn't beat her in a snowball fight. Her childhood in Wisconsin engrained a effortless instinct for making perfectly packed snowballs. Deadly accuracy, could nail a face peeking over a snowfort wall. Air parting shriek as the chilly missle puts you on your back.

She's in great shape still, but ma is on in years enough where a game of raquetball would have less than beneficial effects. Still would like to have another match. Will pleasantly settle on a day long hike through the woods and brush with the vizslas excitedly sniffing and pointing out ground fowl. Plan out a fishing trip. Excellent angler. One spunky chick my ma.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next