New York City 1948


1:23 p.m.-2003-04-20

me swampy start

Woo doggies! Back in black baby, I am back in black.

Innards feeling constricted. Head bobbing around like a chunk of driftwood on calm seas. Got the post vacation blues.

Also, I suppose I had some stuffed sinuses problem going on, but the high plane altitudes did a number on my ear canals. I was in searing pain for the last fifteen minutes of my flight back into New York. Now its all wet pops and loud internal head noises. Thats the way the cochlea bounces.

The multi-city trip was fantabulous. So much rememberance info swarming about in the skull. Figure I will just start with freedom from toil and strife day one.

Actually, due to unforseen work scheduling changes I had three days off before I was to set off on my journey westwards. These being mostly filled with uneventful occurences, such as playing with my belly button and once again testing the semen production limits of my jewels, I will forgo any attempts at making them seem interesting.

Sunday of the Sixth in the month of April: Triangulations of ticketing planning had me fly into St.Louis firstly. Three hour lay over perfect for snarfing some airport restaurant food with the familials. They had both pain killers and muscle relaxants. This, in conjunction with the three Stoli rocks, made the flight to New Orleans all in the body puddle mode.

Being of the insomniacally freaked, even Prince Valium candies couldn't keep me completely down. Not when Zeus decides to unleash his lightening bolts all around the plane. Mostly, I was scaring other passengers with my devil chuckles everytime the darkened sky crackled. It was like sitting in the center of a Brillo pad in the microwave, sparks everywhere. Which to me is in the realm of dopeness.

Sunshine arrived before I did. When I say Sunshine I don't mean the dastardly rays that beset humanity from the death fireball in the sky. No no. I mean Sunshine, a very adorable chick who is cool to hang with from the lands of UK. Arranged this excursion together we did, partying was on the agenda.

Mmmmmuggy. Instantly the infamous humidity greets you. I thought I was halucinating, but I swore I could intensely smell the fumes of flowers everywhere. The wet air is a natural conductor of aromas down there.

Had to wake our host at The Old World Inn. For whatever vibes I was leeching, he assumed I was a regular visitor of Nawlins. A slightly telling portend that will fit into later details of this story.

Family run, bed and breakfasty style operation. Hosed off the travelling funk. Cranked the air. Gave Sunshine a much needed massage with skillful fingers. Gotta be cocky here, I do possess a pair of the best hands in all of the male population. Not sure what to attribute it to. All I know is; if you let me get my hands on any part of your body, you'll be under my control for the rest of the night. We fooled around a little and passed out.

Monday of the Seventh in the month of April: Contacted my pal Shannon. She moved from Brooklyn to New Orleans almost three years ago. She let us crash at her crib for the remainder of the New Orleans fun. She snatched us up in her hooptie and we were officially jumped off on the revelries of the Swamp.

Again, the air smelled of blooming. Completely energising and calming at the same time. I've seen footage of the idiots who swarm the French Quarter, spilling cocktails and launching hurl everywhere. Also, much of the city is economically depressed. You would just assume that you could taste the squallor in your throat. It may have been that it was Spring, but there was not one place we went that did not have wonderful scents dancing on the air.

Also what I found infinitely visually appealing, apart from the business district, there was absolutely no new architecture whatsoever. Even beat down shacks had charm. The place has definitely decided to stay historically true. Holy gourd is that town purty.

I thought we had been clever. Sneaking into New Orleans in between the manic calendar events of Mardi Gras and the Jazz Fest. Completely spaced that the Final Four was at the Superdome. College basketball enthusiasts, or raving lunatics I should say, slightly bunched up the good time. Marching crowds draped in Syracuse orange stuck their thumb in the beauty. We growled at them when we could. And it only lasted for the first day for the most part, so it was easily sloughed off.

After depositing our luggage, Shannon dropped us off at the French Market, which is basically the bottom corner of the French Quarter. And we wuz off.

Breezed through the tents full of tourist trappings. Not what we had come for. Decided to trek down Decatur, and whatever yanked the hook we would bite at.

One wood carving shop caught my interest. Everything hand hewn and dramatically painted. I especially puckishly enjoyed pointing out the African like statues with the elongated phalluses to Sunshine. Her skin is lovely when its giggly and blushed.

Discovered ( as if I was some explorer charting unspoiled lands ) a cool used book store. I love fingering through old leather bound rarities. Many volumes printed in the 1800's. If I had the sauce, I'd have a personal library filled to capacity with the stuff.

Feeling peckish we decided to hunt for a decent spot that didn't look like a tourist trap. Found a spot off of Chartres street that wasn't crowded but smelled amazing. Believe it was called Rita's, but the housefly memory could be in control. Saw the kitchen was run by Black folk, and the two portly ladies stumbling out oragasmically saying "oh yeah honey, it's good", confirmed that it was probably a good local spot.

Yeah child, the gumbo and oyster po'boy were right on time. Also, be careful, it appears that the Tabasco on New Orleans tables is much spicier than what us non Cajuns are used to. It was a delightful eye opener. Opted to punish our waistlines by finishing off with a dessert. Bananas Foster. Holy mouth quivering joy spasms. Bananas Foster is a ice cream dish that should not be avoided.

My head is informing me that I cannot continue with this discourse much longer. No worries, the entire experience will be recorded. Sharp pains behind your ear canals must be listened to though. Damn allerigies.

Rock out with your cock out.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next