New York City 1948


11:19 a.m.-2001-05-15

flush them out

A couple of kids were reading High Times magazine on the subway today. One of them saw me looking their way. He signalled his friend, trying to be suave about it. He pointed to me from under his chin so as to hide it from me. They both darted a look at me and nervously kept reading. I'm not sure if they thought I was some kind of undercover figure of authority, or if I was some rough burn-out who was gonna roll them for their stash. Couldn't stop from chuckling.

A new ingredient has been added to the psycho salad that is driving me to deviancy. Some gremlin has decided to adorn their fire escape with windchimes in the back courtyard of my apartment building. Can't pinpoint where its coming from cause sound just bounces back and forth and up and down the encircling brick walls that enclose that space. If I could I would have already smashed that shit to peices. But the random sickly sweet tinkling tankling clinking fairy mating call doesn't fit into the noise puzzle of downtown New York. I've acclamated myself to the sounds of the city. But honk honk......bark bark.....tinkle tinkle.....scuffle scuffle, just don't work. Its jarring.

And I know its not a real New Yorker that did it. Its some idiot rookie transplant that is trying to incorporate a bit of their melancholy suburban history into Gotham. Its obscene. Its like opening up a Sizzler in India. Or practicing your death metal all the way to eleven in an old folks home.

If this plebian is found out by me, I will have to school them. And it won't be a calm explanation of how not everybody finds the sounds as melodic and calming as they do. It'll be a rude explanation of how if they don't take down the bullshit they will have wind chimes dangling from their asshole. Sadistic simpletons.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next