New York City 1948


12:30 a.m.-2001-07-26

some independent thoughts

Its tragic when a guy shaves his head to discover that his ears were not made for the hairstyle. I just saw William H. Macy on IFilm At IFC, and he looks like Nosferatu. Its like he's got a couple of Cadilliac fins framing his face.

Speaking of the Independent Film Network, I was wondering how many of my ex-classmates from NYU work there. Definitely the path I was headed for if I kept trudging away as a techie on indie productions here in the city. I can see the haven for scraggly film heads like all the co-horts I was involved with back then in my head now.

The best part of film school and then independent film production companies is the beautiful concentration of geeks it collects. Constant quoting of Scorsese and Monty Python movies. Everybody with their unique yet geek inclusive fashion sense. Plenty of sick humor. At least one or two people will be stoned at the moment. Bagels and pizza galore. And my favorite part, the hate fest of Hollywood and those that pander to its product.

Of course the offices at IFC probably have a mental fog of disappointment and envy for those that actually get their scripts on celluloid. The sad march of film geeks. How is it possible that I actually miss it.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next