New York City 1948


2:54 p.m.-2001-09-20

New York fucking city fucking rocks

New York City rules.

Pedestrian lifestyle. Everywhere I need to go I can walk to. I hate relying on some hunk of junk on four wheels to get around. The surroundings are absorbed, and the city puts its mark on you daily cause your swimming in it. Its freedom. No attachment to some vehicle you always have to be responsible for or worry about.

Falafel. At least in the states there is no better falafel anywhere. Complete meal, stuffed till its pouring out of the pita. I suppose its healthy too. A useful side effect I won't begrudge. Every merchant of Middle Eastern fare I have ever encountered always with a smile and a joke. I pity other cities for their ground chick pea treat deficiency.

Freaks. I'm a straight up freaky geeky weirdo. And that means absolutely nothing here. Its not strange or special. You might hear some grumblings from old timers when a mohawk or pink haired teeny bopper walks by. But you take that crusty New Yorker and plop him into Anytown USA, and he's a freak too. Let others complain, we revel in our dysfunction. Convention is the only outside force here.

Rooftops. Every apartment building has a unique and splendid view from its rooftop. The best parties in New York are on somebody's roof. The sweetest breeze is felt up there. Try and think of any other city where on the Fourth of July absolutely everybody has access to a perfect seat for the pyrotechnic festivities. For me a trip up to my rooftop is the best way to collect my thoughts. My serene perch.

Accents. Not only does the constant barrage of varying accents ingrains a international flavor in your swagger. But on a personal level it provides a never ending sensual imput. I adore accents. They are so fucking sexy. Everytime a different one crops up in my aural perview, I can't help but think what it would sound like in the throws of passion. Yummy.

Manicure/pedicure shops. I don't patronize these places personally. But I give biggest props for them providing a fairly inexpensive yet thourough service for all the ladies so they can proudly show off their feet. New York women have the best feet, and I have to assume its because its easy to schedule and afford a pedicure once a week at least.

Four A.M. Most cities have a last call of one thirty or two o'clock. Where's the haven for insomniacs? Here. By the time last call of ten to four hits, your usually in the bag anyway. If your a real New Yorker though not even four A.M. is a roadblock to maintaining your nightly festivities. As painful as stumbling home at seven in the morning is, its fucking beautiful as hell.

Dog runs. Every park in the city has a dog run. I can't think of a better way to waste time than watching a cluster of dogs frolicking with each other. And if your fortunate to be a pooch owner, its one of the best places to socialize with your hood.

Graffiti. I love the instant gratification and instant artisitic expression that graffiti provides. Hell, when I'm in other cities I miss the random taggings of initials on every surface that will hold marker ink. I love the fact that no actor's face is safe from ridicule on movie posters. I also love when an entire strip of wall has been decorated with a wild landcape of surreal images and color. Keep your vandalism laws to yourself I love bomber art.

The real. New Yorkers get a reputation for being rude. We just don't got time for bullshit and empty niceties. I'd much rather have someone sneer at me and let me know I'm pissing them off than some vapid smiling air headed crap. You want the real deal on anything, ask a New Yorker. We won't hold punches, we'll give you the scoop. And you probably needed to hear that shit mutha fucka.

Ethnic neighborhoods. Getting a real kielbasa from a butcher in Greenpoint. Finding an out of the way restaurant in Chinatown for exquisite dim sum. Fresh mozarella and pasta made on premises in Little Italy. Being invited to a Boriqua bbq party in Corona. I love walking into some neighborhood in Queens and Brooklyn and you can instantly feel the ethnic pride of the people. And I have yet to be shunned or excluded, they want to share their heritage. Its beautiful.

I could write forever on why I love New York. As a matter of fact if your a New Yorker and feel I shamefully omitted anything essential out call me on it in my guestbook. Its my home, and the place where I feel welcome and comfortable. When your a New Yorker its something special, and definitely not something just anybody can pull off or even handle. It pleases me to hear people say they enjoyed New York but they could never live here. Regardless of what has happened its the best fucking city in the world. I can't imagine ever leaving. If your a real New Yorker I would like to officially send out my warmest regards and hope that all is well with you, your my people and I'm awfully fond of you.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next