New York City 1948


2:35 p.m.-2002-03-29

spark goes the hood

Cranial passageways clogged.

Not a fan of pollen. Makes trees purty and green. It also makes my sinuses throb. While most people see buds on the trees and smile, I scowl at them for creating my own personal sticky headed Chernobyl. Wanna take a science lab pipette cleaner and shove it up my nose and scrub out all the offending material. I will walk around with a grumpy cloud today.

Breathing problems aggravated by a building fire on my block last night. Dreaming that I was in a sooty restaurant kitchen, with an inordinate amount of stove burners all sauteing diced onion in butter, all with a unusual orange glow to them. Woke up to crackle and pop sounds of a fire. Looked out my window and the courtyard was tinted warm campfire cinder sepia. Could feel the heat against my cheek.

Scrambled to get clothes on and dashed outside. Dozen firetrucks descend on the scene. Heard murmers and grumblings that some crackhead squater set the abandoned building on fire again. Little more than a month ago the same building had a small fire that was extinguished fairly quickly. Not the case last night.

Could have gotten real ugly real fast. Damn I love firemen. They dashed into the flaming building without hesitation. The two buildings connected on either side got scorched. The noisome smoke was charcoal thick. Still can taste it. They get awashed in that crap daily. They are superheros.

The incident triggered another bout of insomnia. Envisioning my melted corpse stuck to the coils of my bedsprings like overdone barbeque chicken wings on a Webster grill. Also choking on the stinky smoke residue. So I'm gonna be spanky the coughing grouch today. I wonder if a headache was the root cause of a postal worker mowing down his coworkers with a street sweeper.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next