New York City 1948


8:11 a.m.-2003-03-11

ny1 you am a bitch

Monday easy. Glad I have mondays off. Can slither through the streets free from mass chumpitude. Immediate barbershop seat walk-in without an appointment. No consumer hemmorhaging clogging the shopping aisles. Peacefully pick up what cleaning products I need without knocking elbows with anyone else.

Mmmmm Monday movie day. Favorite day to go see a flick. Smattering of retired senior citizens, and a few other slacker freaks like myself. Whole row to spread my caveman frame out in. No head traffic, free and easy view.

Decent film. Lawless Heart. Nice engaging moments. Always pleasant to listen to English accents for a couple of hours. Free from Hollywood paste. Ten bucks happily departed from.

Whenever walking out of a darkened theater I have a feeling of time travel. Completely ignoring the outside world. Always have to snap out of it a little. Usually takes a couple of blocks before I remember that I am no longer interacting with the movie. Especially when I watch movies alone. Another bullet point on the "Reasons why Spanky prefers the cinema experience alone" dissertation.

Few yards of sunlit chewing gum stained sidewalk. Firetrucks racing down Houston Street. Shake off the fiction. Appears to be a thirteen alarm fire. Second and First Avenue on traffic lockdown. Oinker tells me to keep it moving when I ask what's the dilly. My tax dollars hard at work.

First thing in my crib, turn on NY1. Nothing severe as a couple of jet liners ramming the city, but it seemed newsworthy enough that they should be reporting on it. Ten minutes pass and the breaking news graphic comes on. Oh goodie, they'll give me the down low on what type fire was blazing. "This just in...Mayor Bloomberg now talking with Broadway musicians union....blah blah blady blah.".

Grrrrrruuflefuck.

Shut that fucker off. NY1 succeded in keeping my television off for the rest of the evening. Fucking Broadway musicals strike. Last concern on my mind is whether or not Cabaret or Beauty and the Beast is gonna unleash their nightly lyrical piss. I'd like to consign the invaders of my town who come here strictly for Les Miz to the septic tank of hell. Perpetual great white way strike I say. Damn vomitous mass of cotton candy art bullshit.

Had to wait till the following day to learn that four fire fighters were injured battling a track fire on the Second Avenue F line. Caused commuter woes throughout the city. Still no cause determined.

But you're right NY1, the fuckdazzle lights of musical broadway turmoil are much more important than any disaster in my hood. Asshole tankwads.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next