New York City 1948


6:55 p.m.-2003-06-17

hit you with the pimp ray, zap

Ever seen a power transformer explode? It's dope.

The electricity would go out in my old hood with regularity whenever a thunderstorm brewed. The power station very near to our house was a magnet for the lightening bolts. Black out central.

Out the back window you could often see the purple and gold irredescent aura plume spread up from the ground into the night sky. Transformers are visually stunning when they blow. It looked like the radioactive aftermath of an alien invasion. I'd sit there in my candle illuminated bedroom and enjoy the show.

Plenty of electrical activity around here lately. Last storm bolts definitely hit paydirt in my hood. Shattering crackle. Made me say goddamn goddammit. Peered outside and saw a fire escape smoldering. All the moisture zapped right off of it. No sirens though, no fire started.

Thunderstorms mean spanky sleeps well. The Hammer of Thor can pound the mortals all it wants, shit rocks me to beddy bye.

Lightening struck my house once back in the day. Just happened to be across the street at my homie Eli's house, playing on his Mac IIe. Marble Madness I think. Storm started up something fierce. Looking out of his livingroom window enjoying nature's fury, leaning on the back of his mom's couch. Crackleboooom! Smoke coming from the backyard of my house.

Eli's mom had to block me from instantly running across the street to check it out. I eventually clawed my way past her, had to make sure my pup was alright. One thing I've noticed about urban Jews is that they just don't like owning pets or having critters in their house in general. Probably one of those clean kosher laws things. She could not fathom putting myself in harms way to get at my pooch.

Lash was spastic and wanted to attack Zippy the electrical intruder. Let him out of the back of the house and he was sniffing all around looking for the culprit. House seemed intact.

The lightening had travelled through the phone cable leading up to our house. Vaporised the metal wires inside of it, left behind melted plastic, with escape hatch holes where freebase bolts shot out.

Completely destroyed our lawn furniture. Twisted aluminum frames with smoking vinyl webbing fused to them. That was cool.

Ever since then it must have polarised the house. Left a few magnetic spots in the framing structure. Three televisions have made their way into the livingroom since then. They all wind up with a purplish yellow light stain in the lower left hand corner of the screen. Mmmmmmm ionised home.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next