New York City 1948


3:43 p.m.-2001-05-25

in praise of a japanese lady

All these people despise Yoko Ono for allegedly being the catalyst that broke up the Beatles. I say, if it's at all true, we should give her a glistening gold medal, keys to the city, chocolates and fresh flowers daily, and as many young whipping boys that she desires. I raise my goblet in her honor.

I was watching this art show called Egg on PBS last night, and it was all about conceptual art. It started off with Marcel Duchamp, whom I'm a big fan of. Really nice collection of his work at the art museum of Philly. He had fun with his art and the audience. And its punk irreverant fun. Me likey. So I tuned in.

A segment on Yoko Ono's art came on. And while I applaud her for destroying the fab four, I never really took her endeavors seriously. She's a pretty cool chick. Her instructions on how to make a painting piece is brilliant. I love her concepts. Make a peice of art, have people copy it and photograph it, then destroy the original so that it only exists as a record. Also, how to paint the sky. Cut a hole in one peice of paper, let the sun shine through it marking another peice of paper, must be a bright blue day. Ballsy art really turns me on. Needless to say I was surprisingly impressed.

Also nice job on drawing John away from those other guys. George was alright. Not a meta musician by any means though. Paul - Wings. I have a hard time listening to the Beatles, but Wings makes me think I'm trapped in an elevator getting my teeth drilled. Ringo. Well he's amusing in cave man movies, but he tried to be Frank Zappa musically, and that is a crime where no punishment is harsh enough. I can appreciate the Beatles influence and melancholy fondness that fans have, plus they did have instrumental acumen. But I see their stuff as lowest common denominator pandering pablum. Its just too accessible, and not challenging at all. Even their so called revolutionary albums such as Sergeant Pepper's, are overly digestible, and for me lazy and passive, attributes which I don't like coming anywhere near my art.

All hail Yoko. If you want to despise any chicks for ruining a band think Nancy Spungen and Courtney Love. Genius destroying skanks.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next