New York City 1948


3:01 p.m.-2001-11-03

forefathers would vomit

People have been deeming it necessary to chide me on my voting practices. Which are that I don't participate in any of that bullshit. The whole lesser of two evils argument doesn't work for me. I can't stand Democrats or Republicans. Conservatives and liberals make me want to vomit. "Why don't you write in a vote then?" Why don't you go waste your own time asshole.

The problem with democracy, or at least American democracy is that majority rules. And the majority of people in America are feeble minded sheep, blindly marching along oblivious to the facts that our government lies to us. We only think we live in a free society because we have three hundred breakfast cereals to choose from. Its a corrupt system, and you can call me a deluded idealist if ya want, but I could not live with myself if I bought into that system.

"Why don't you leave then?" Like other people around the world I can't help what society I was born into. I am an American, I have American foibles, habits and mannerisms. Which unfortunately means I only know English, I couldn't survive without hot water, highways, cable, and iced beverages, and basically am seen as an unwelcomed parasite wherever I go. Most countries will not grant a yank citizenship without an obscene amount of money or vast amounts of genius brain cells. Neither of which I have. And while I believe the USA is fucked, its not as fucked as most of the third world countries, which is the only place in my current condition I'd be allowed to plant roots.

I refuse to allow people to suggest I'm not a citizen cause I don't participate in some sham vote, or cheer for the local baseball team, or show my support for the police, or rah rah any military efforts past and present. I feel I'm doing more justice by being a critic, not going with the flow, shoving my stinky stuff into the establishment's face. Corporations and the rich decide who gets into office. Just because you get to choose one or the other doesn't make it a free and thinking society. They are so happy that you watch endless pap on the television, that you go to church, that you smoke their cigarettes and drink their sugar water. Oh we'll get all in an uproar if an ex football star gets away with murder. But shrug off the fact that the capitalism of this country rapes the non western world.

Keep your fucking vote. Whoever you vote in will not help solve the problems, they will only be a smoke screen bandaid. We will continue to have people hate us. We will continue to gobble up all the natural resources. The rich will continue not to share the wealth. We will continue to be attacked. We will continue to be one of the most uneducated, insensitive and corrupt empires in the history of the world.

Whoever takes over from us I hope they do a better job.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next