New York City 1948


8:42 a.m.-2001-12-13

sanguine

Blood was leaving this kid's arm on the L train yesterday. He got on looking confused and a little preturbed. Noticed his hand streaked of crimson. A pool collected around him shortly. People tried to help him, handing him handkerchiefs. He just stared off into what limited space in the crowded train there was, seeming oblivious to the fact his forearm had an expansive gash on it.

As I got off the subway a few stops short. I figure being trapped some feet away from a blood sprinkler in a rush hour laden car would be unfun. Of course, most of the other riders didn't see it my way and join me in bolting for the opening doors. Gotta make their stop regardless of incoming body fluids.

Forget for a minute that exposure to a random person's blood could expose you to a myriad of health risks. I have seen first hand what effects a medical calamity has on the operations of your average subway train. I got trapped in between stops for two hours once because someone ralphed in the train ahead of us. Could only imagine the havok figures of authority would reap upon the spectators of the river of blood that was escaping that young man.

Course, didn't think of relaying the gruesome details to the token booth clerk as I ascended the steps to the outside world. In my defense, the image of the kid's leak over and over in my brain was making me shiver a little. Also, the fact that he seemed the least concerned about his possible death from his wound made various scenarios rifle through my head of the backstory to his predicament. So, in a common state for me, I was distracted.

Funny enough, the brief period of being disturbed was quickly replaced with a grin. Where else would someone bleeding profusely in close proximity to dozens of people not create panic. No one went running and screaming. There were plenty of low toned "fuck"s and "holy shit"s, but no one started proclaiming the apocalypse. NYC is the land of the cool cucumber. Me likey long time.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next