New York City 1948


8:45 a.m.-2003-05-23

mind coded for solely me

I suppose I reek of New Yorker. I have been accused of having permenant urban vision, abrasive New Yorker attitude. Assuming that the planet revolves around Gotham, which of course, it does.

Anyway, I must carry all the signatures of an embedded citizen of the city. Constantly stopped by confused folk asking for directions. I can see it in their eyes, opening wider, their EKG graph going off the charts. They have finally found a New Yorker they think they can approach.

I suppose that's the other segment of the equation. For whatever reson I seem approachable. I don't conciously hide my deviant danger geek freak arch villiany. Instinctual chameleon mode just so I can walk down the street unhindered and unobstructed.

The point I was trying to get to. Christ you fucking expound egregiously sometimes. Sorry master. Grumph! The point was, that the moment someone asks me where a street is, my mind short circuits.

My brain is on a mission when it's heading to a destination. Put them foots in motion. The eyes scanning for new developments in the hood, scattered round ass and exposed well manicured toes, and otherwise shit I should avoid and sidestep. So when my internal dialogue is abrubtly interrupted it throws sticky gunk into the gears.

My compass ain't all that fine tuned as it is. Probably missing some metals in the tip of my nose or something. Whatever it is, I get turned around easily, and I never remember what poles are where. I'm no forest ranger.

Some pedestrian steps in my path begging for directions and I must reconfigure. I usually end up mumbling an unintelligible phrase, spasm the head a little, and then after an extended pause exasperatingly cackle the answer. The people take a step back realising they just implemented the brief kryptonite, exposing my insane alterego. Backing away towards where I point and smirk to uneasily.

I can get to anywhere in New York on my own steam. Anywhere I've ever been before otherwise as well. But ask me to explain how to do it and I'll confuse us both. Too many password blocks on the speech interfaces to complete the query. CPU overheats.

Previous - Next


Guestbook - Diaryland - Profile - Design - Interview - HeyJude - Archives - Current - TheSpark - Vote


Diaryland | last - random - list - next
Deviants | last - random - list - next
Baded-Jitter | last - random - list - next